how many capital cities in south africa

South Africa is a country located at the southern tip of Africa. It is the 25th-largest country in the world by land area, and with over 56 million people, it is the world’s 24th-most populous nation. The World Bank classifies South Africa as an upper-middle-income economy, and a newly industrialised country. Its economy is the second-largest in Africa, and the 34th-largest in the world. In terms of purchasing power parity, South Africa has the seventh-largest economy in Africa.

South Africa is a parliamentary republic and since 1994 has had a multi-party system. Executive power is exercised by the government. Legislative power is vested in the two chambers of parliament, the National Assembly and the National Council of Provinces. The judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

South Africa is a founding member of the United Nations, the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the African Union (AU), and the Commonwealth of Nations. The country is also a member of the Non-Aligned Movement, the G20, and the World Trade Organization.

As of 2019, South Africa has a population of 58 million people. The population is fairly evenly distributed between the urban areas and the rural areas. The majority of the population is of Black African descent, with minorities of White, Coloured, and Indian descent. The official languages of South Africa are English, Afrikaans, isiZulu, isiXhosa, and siSwati.

There are three capital cities in South Africa. The three capital cities are Pretoria, Cape Town, and Bloemfontein. Pretoria is the executive capital city, Cape Town is the legislative capital city, and Bloemfontein is the judicial capital city.

South Africa is a country located at the southernmost tip of the African continent. It is bordered by Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Swaziland and Lesotho. It is a member of the Commonwealth and has nine provinces. The country has two capital cities, Pretoria and Cape Town.

Pretoria is located in the province of Gauteng and is the executive capital, while Cape Town is the legislative capital. Both cities are capitals of their respective provinces.

The other seven provincial capitals are:

Bloemfontein – Free State

Kimberley – Northern Cape

Mafikeng – North West

Nelspruit – Mpumalanga

Polokwane – Limpopo

Port Elizabeth – Eastern Cape

Mahikeng – Western Cape

Latest posts

  • Johnny Clegg

    Jonathan (Johnny) Clegg was born June 7, 1953 in Rochdale near Manchester in England. Already in his youth, Johnny Clegg, a white, English-speaking person with what he called a ‘secular Jewish’ upbringing in Britain, Israel, Zimbabwe and South Africa, became interested in Zulu street music and took part in traditional Zulu dance competitions. As a […]

    Read more

  • Wessels

    Away fro city life… I met a European couple (the guy from the Netherlands and the girl from UK) in Australia a couple of years ago. They are now planning to come visit South Africa later this year and I thought it may be useful for European travellers to hear a South African’s opinion of […]

    Read more

  • how many months income do you need for a mortgage in south africa

    It is a common misconception that you need a large deposit to get a mortgage in South Africa. You can actually get a mortgage with a deposit of as little as 3% of the purchase price. However, the size of your deposit will affect the interest rate you are offered and the amount you will […]

    Read more