how many capital city in south africa

South Africa is a land of contrasts. Boasting no less than nine provinces, each with its own unique landscape, climate and attractions, the country has something to offer everyone. And, with three capital cities to choose from, you’re spoilt for choice when it comes to planning your trip.

Johannesburg is the largest city in South Africa, and is the perfect base for exploring the country. Home to a wealth of museums, art galleries and historical sites, as well as a vibrant nightlife scene, Johannesburg has something to offer everyone.

Cape Town, meanwhile, is the perfect place to enjoy the great outdoors. With its stunning beaches, world-renowned wine region and scenic Table Mountain, Cape Town is a nature lover’s paradise.

And finally, Pretoria is the administrative capital of South Africa. A city with a rich history and a diverse population, Pretoria is home to a number of important government buildings, as well as a number of universities and museums.

So, whatever your interests, you’re sure to find a capital city in South Africa that’s perfect for you.

South Africa is a country located at the southern tip of Africa. It is the25th-largest country in the world by land area, and with over 56 million people, it is the world’s 24th-most populous nation. The World Bank classifies South Africa as an upper-middle-income economy, and a newly industrialised country. Its economy is the second-largest in Africa, and the 34th-largest in the world. In terms of purchasing power parity, South Africa has the seventh-highest per capita income in Africa. However, poverty and inequality remain widespread, with about a quarter of the population unemployed and living on less than US$1.25 a day.

South Africa has three capital cities: Pretoria, Cape Town and Bloemfontein. Pretoria is the executive capital, Cape Town is the legislative capital, and Bloemfontein is the judicial capital. The Union Buildings, which house the executive branch, are located in Pretoria. Parliament is located in Cape Town, and the Supreme Court of Appeal is located in Bloemfontein.

Pretoria is located in the northeastern part of the country, in the Gauteng province. It is the largest city in the province, with a population of over 2.4 million. Cape Town is located on the southwestern coast of the country, in the Western Cape province. It is the country’s second-largest city, with a population of over 3.7 million. Bloemfontein is located in the central part of the country, in the Free State province. It is the country’s third-largest city, with a population of over 400,000.

Latest posts

  • Johnny Clegg

    Jonathan (Johnny) Clegg was born June 7, 1953 in Rochdale near Manchester in England. Already in his youth, Johnny Clegg, a white, English-speaking person with what he called a ‘secular Jewish’ upbringing in Britain, Israel, Zimbabwe and South Africa, became interested in Zulu street music and took part in traditional Zulu dance competitions. As a […]

    Read more

  • Wessels

    Away fro city life… I met a European couple (the guy from the Netherlands and the girl from UK) in Australia a couple of years ago. They are now planning to come visit South Africa later this year and I thought it may be useful for European travellers to hear a South African’s opinion of […]

    Read more

  • how many months income do you need for a mortgage in south africa

    It is a common misconception that you need a large deposit to get a mortgage in South Africa. You can actually get a mortgage with a deposit of as little as 3% of the purchase price. However, the size of your deposit will affect the interest rate you are offered and the amount you will […]

    Read more