Kwazulu Natal

KwaZulu-Natal, often referred to as ‘KZN’, is one of nine provinces in South Africa. It was formed after the first free elections in 1994 from the province of Natal and the territories that made up the Bantustan of KwaZulu. It is the traditional home of the amaZulu.
KwaZulu-Natal is located on the eastern side of South Africa and has an area of 92,100 km².
The population is nearly 9.5 million, representing approximately 20% of the South Africa’s population. The language spoken by most is isiZulu, followed by English.
According to the 2000 national census, the population is made up mainly of Black (85%), followed by Indian (9%) and Whites (5%).
The major cities and towns in the KwaZulu-Natal are Durban, Estcourt, Ladysmith, Margate, Newcastle, Pietermaritzburg, Richards Bay and Vryheid. The capital, Pietermaritzburg, is in the southern-central part of the province.
Durban is a rapidly growing city (second largest in South Africa) and is the busiest port in Africa. Sugar refining is the main industry, although sheep, cattle, citrus fruits, corn, cotton, bananas, and pineapples are also important products in the area.
Average temperatures in the province range from 17 to 28°C in the summer (October to April) and from 11 to 25°C in the cooler winter  months (June to September). Annual rainfall is about 690mm, spread throughout the year.
Lekker Links
KwaZulu-Natal provincial government
KwaZulu-Natal Tourism Authority
Tourism Grading Council Provinces; Cities & Towns.
Durban, Estcourt, Ladysmith, Margate, Newcastle, Pietermaritzburg, Richards Bay, Vryheid
Albert Lutuli; Shaka Zulu
South Africa’s Climate
Durban’s Climate
amaZulu; amaZulu historical photos
The climate of the coastal areas is humid and subtropical, although towards the border with Mozambique the climate becomes almost pure tropical.
The province has three distinct topographical areas: the lowland region along the Indian Ocean coast; the plains in the central section; with the Drakensberg in the west and the Lebombo Mountains in the north.
The Tugela River flows west to east across the centre of the province.
The coastline is dotted with small towns and tourist resorts. North of Durban is commonly known as the ‘North Coast’ and holiday resorts include Ballito, Umhlanga and Salt Rock. South of Durban is commonly known as the ‘South Coast’ and holiday resorts include Margate, Port Shepstone, Scottburgh and Port Edward.
Fantastic beaches of world-class quality are found along virtually every part of South Africa’s eastern seaboard, with some of the least developed beeches found in the far southern and northern parts of the province.
The interior of the province consists largely of rolling hills, stretching from the Valley of a Thousand Hills to the Midlands. The Valley of a Thousand Hills lies between Pietermaritzburg, and Durban where the Umgeni River meets the Msunduzi River.

Latest posts

  • Johnny Clegg

    Jonathan (Johnny) Clegg was born June 7, 1953 in Rochdale near Manchester in England. Already in his youth, Johnny Clegg, a white, English-speaking person with what he called a ‘secular Jewish’ upbringing in Britain, Israel, Zimbabwe and South Africa, became interested in Zulu street music and took part in traditional Zulu dance competitions. As a […]

    Read more

  • Wessels

    Away fro city life… I met a European couple (the guy from the Netherlands and the girl from UK) in Australia a couple of years ago. They are now planning to come visit South Africa later this year and I thought it may be useful for European travellers to hear a South African’s opinion of […]

    Read more

  • how many months income do you need for a mortgage in south africa

    It is a common misconception that you need a large deposit to get a mortgage in South Africa. You can actually get a mortgage with a deposit of as little as 3% of the purchase price. However, the size of your deposit will affect the interest rate you are offered and the amount you will […]

    Read more