E CapeFree StateGautengKZNLimpopoMpumalangaNorth WestN CapeW Cape
There is no better place in the world to have a holiday than South Africa. For independent information, advice and facts about going on holiday to South Africa visit southafricaholiday.org.uk
South Africa Holiday: the awe-inspiring Drakensberg "dragon mountains" of KwaZulu-Natal

South Africa Holiday: KwaZulu-Natal

The home of the Zulu people, KwaZulu-Natal is the quintessential South African holiday destination. A coastline with miles of pristine sub-tropical beaches, the Valley of a Thousand Hills and the Drakensberg.

KwaZulu-Natal, often referred to as "KZN", is one of nine provinces in South Africa. It was formed after the first free elections in 1994 from the province of Natal and the territories that made up the Bantustan of KwaZulu. It is the traditional home of the amaZulu.
Click to see a detailed map of KwaZulu Natal Province in South Africa
KwaZulu-Natal is located on the eastern side of South Africa and has an area of 92,100 km�.
The population is nearly 9.5 million, representing approximately 20% of the South Africa's population. The language spoken by most is isiZulu, followed by English.
According to the 2000 national census, the population is made up mainly of Black (85%), followed by Indian (9%) and Whites (5%).
The major cities and towns in the KwaZulu-Natal are Durban, Estcourt, Ladysmith, Margate, Newcastle, Pietermaritzburg, Richards Bay and Vryheid. The capital, Pietermaritzburg, is in the southern-central part of the province.
Durban is a rapidly growing city (second largest in South Africa) and is the busiest port in Africa. Sugar refining is the main industry, although sheep, cattle, citrus fruits, corn, cotton, bananas, and pineapples are also important products in the area.
Average temperatures in the province range from 17 to 28�C in the summer (October to April) and from 11 to 25�C in the cooler winter  months (June to September). Annual rainfall is about 690mm, spread throughout the year.

Related pages

Provinces; Cities & Towns.

Durban, Estcourt, Ladysmith, Margate, Newcastle, Pietermaritzburg, Richards Bay, Vryheid

Albert Lutuli; Shaka Zulu

South Africa's Climate
Durban's Climate

amaZulu; amaZulu historical photos
The climate of the coastal areas is humid and subtropical, although towards the border with Mozambique the climate becomes almost pure tropical.
The province has three distinct topographical areas: the lowland region along the Indian Ocean coast; the plains in the central section; with the Drakensberg in the west and the Lebombo Mountains in the north.
The Tugela River flows west to east across the centre of the province.
The coastline is dotted with small towns and tourist resorts. North of Durban is commonly known as the "North Coast" and holiday resorts include Ballito, Umhlanga and Salt Rock. South of Durban is commonly known as the "South Coast" and holiday resorts include Margate, Port Shepstone, Scottburgh and Port Edward.
Fantastic beaches of world-class quality are found along virtually every part of South Africa's eastern seaboard, with some of the least developed beeches found in the far southern and northern parts of the province.
The interior of the province consists largely of rolling hills, stretching from the Valley of a Thousand Hills to the Midlands. The Valley of a Thousand Hills lies between Pietermaritzburg, and Durban where the Umgeni River meets the Msunduzi River.
Eastern Cape | Free State | Gauteng | KwaZulu-Natal | Limpopo | Mpumalanga | North West | Northern Cape | Western Cape
Contact us | Privacy & disclaimer