E CapeFree StateGautengKZNLimpopoMpumalangaNorth WestN CapeW Cape
chalets in Clarens
There is no better place in the world to have a holiday than South Africa. For independent information, advice and facts about going on holiday to South Africa visit southafricaholiday.org.uk
Map of South Africa

South Africa Holiday: Provinces of South Africa

Before 1994 there were four provinces: Cape Province, Natal, Orange Free State, and Transvaal. Following the first free elections in 1994, the country was divided into nine new provinces.


Eastern Cape Province in South AfricaEastern Cape

boasts a remarkable natural diversity, ranging from the lush evergreen Tsitsikamma forest to the southern slopes of the Drakensberg and the arid Great Karoo. This is the land of rolling hills, endless sweeps of rocky coves and sandy beaches, towering mountain ranges and verdant forests.

Free State Province in South AfricaFree State

This tranquil land of the ever-present windmill is the geographic and agricultural centre of South Africa. Presenting the classic scene of the sunny veld, spacious prairie land, deep-blue skies, majestic cloud formations, and a skyline broken by the occasional flat-topped koppie, this is the Free State.

Gauteng Province in South AfricaGauteng

the place of gold", is in the heart of the highveld in South Africa. The smallest of nine provinces, it is highly urbanised with a population of nine million. Both Johannesburg and Pretoria are located in Gauteng. You can even visit Nelson & Winnie's old house in Soweto on the outskirts of Johannesburg.

KwaZulu Natal Province in South AfricaKwaZulu-Natal

The home of Shaka Zulu and the Zulu people, KwaZulu-Natal is the quintessential South African holiday destination. A coastline with miles of pristine sub-tropical beaches, the Valley of a Thousand Hills and the Drakensberg, make this the holiday destination for sun-lovers and explorers alike.

Limpopo Province in South AfricaLimpopo

Named after the great Limpopo River, this province is rich in wildlife, spectacular scenery and a wealth of historical and cultural treasures. Straddling the northern Kruger Park, Limpopo boasts wide-open bushveld, big skies, mystical baobabs and true wildlife safaris. Limpopo is untamed Africa at its best.

Mpumalanga Province in South AfricaMpumalanga

is the "place where the sun rises". A South Africa tourism hotspot, it includes the world's most famous safari park, the world's third-largest canyon, and the world's oldest cave. Mpumalanga is loved by local and international visitors for its beauty and diversity.

North West Province in South AfricaNorth West

is home to the fantastic Pilanesberg and Madikwe game reserves, with the "big five", fantastic bird-life and wide-open African skies. This South African province boasts archaeological discoveries that go back to the beginnings of humankind, as well as the world-famous Sun City hotel complex.

Northern Cape Province in South AfricaNorthern Cape

is South Africa's largest province, occupying one third of the country's land mass but with just 2% of the population. Most notably it includes the Kalahari desert, the Karoo, Augrabies Falls, the Namaqualand flower region, and Kimberley's Big Hole diamond mine.

Western Cape Province in South AfricaWestern Cape

is one of South Africa's premier tourist destinations. Home to the 'Mother city, Table Mountain, vast wine lands, magnificent beaches, the Cape of Good Hope, world-class restaurants and cosmopolitan entertainment. The Western Cape is truly a province that you cannot afford to miss.

Click to see a larger map of South Africa

Contact us | Privacy & disclaimer